You are here

Fellowships & Awards


E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Award
The E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship was established to support research closely related to corporate governance and/or labor and finance (labor issues related to finance). This fellowship provides generous funding including an academic year stipend, fall and winter term tuition coverage, and health care for an academic year. 

Eun Woo Kim, E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Recipient 2018-19 is a PhD candidate in the Management & Organizations department at the University of Michigan. Her research focuses on corporate governance, shareholder engagement, and human capital. She received her master's degree in International Business from Yonsei University.


NTT Fellowship Award
The NTT Fellowship Award funds a finance junior faculty member for one semester, allowing time off from teaching to devote to their research. At the end of this time period, the recipient will present their research results to finance faculty and doctoral students at an annual NTT Fellowship dinner.

Indrajit Mitra, NTT Fellowship Award Recipient 2017-18 is an Assistant Professor of Finance at the Ross School of Business. His research interests cover theoretical and empirical topics in finance and macro-economics. Indrajit holds a PhD in theoretical Physics from Princeton University, and a PhD in Finance from MIT.

Past Recipients - NTT Fellowship (2005-2018)


Indrajit Mitra, 2017-2018

Stefan Zeume 2016-17
Serhiy Kozak, 2015-16 
Cindy Soo, 2014-15 
Martin Schmalz, 2013-14 
Ing-Haw Cheng, 2012-13 
Denis Sosyura, 2011-12 
Ran Duchin, 2010-11 
Amy Dittmar, 2009-10
Francisco Palomino, 2008-09
Kenneth Ahern, 2007-08
Lu Zhang, 2007-08
Amiyatosh Purnanandam, 2006-07
Clemens Sialm, 2006-07
Haitao Li, 2006-07
Jagadeesh Sivadasan, 2006-07
Lu Zheng, 2005-06


Mitsui Life Doctoral Award
The Mitsui LIfe Doctoral Award recognizes the achievements of outstanding PhD students in the area of finance. PhD students are eligible for either "Best 1st Year Overall Academic Performance" or "Best 2nd Year Overall Performance" and will receive a cash award.  The recipients are honored at the annual PhD Luncheon

George Malikov, Mitsui Life PhD Award, 2nd Year, 2017
George Malikov was awarded the Mitsui Life Award for the best overall performance in his second year as a PhD student in finance at Ross. 

Mitsui Symposium Best Discussant Award
Two awards were presented for best discussion ($2500 each) at the 2018 Mitsui Finance Symposium.  Awards are based on the anonymous votes of the symposium participants at the end of the final session. 

Andres Liberman, Assistant Professor of Finance, New York University Stern School of Business, and Paul Oyer, Professor of Economics, Stanford Graduate School of Business were awarded this honor at the 28th Mitsui Symposium held June 2018.

Past Recipients - Doctoral Awards (2012 - 2018)


George Malikov, (2nd year)

Zhengyang Xu, 2016 (2nd year)
Yan Zhen, 2015 (1st year)
Yifei Wang, 2015 (2nd year)
Yifei Wang, 2014 (1st year)
Rahul Chhabra, 2013 (1st year)
Bret Herzig, 2013 (2nd year)
Bret Herzig, 2012 (1st year)
Sahil Raina, 2012 (2nd year)